Back to All Events

Exploring the Yamas

  • Gwills Yoga Lane, Newquay Cornwall United Kingdom (map)

The system of yoga is made up of eight limbs according to the great saint, Patanjali, who taught us about the concept of yoga over 2000 years ago. These eight limbs are the stepping stones on the path of yoga to reach the ultimate goal of Samadhi, complete integration or bliss. The path of yoga is to purify mind and body so that we can move through life with less suffering and more ease. The eight limbs are:

  • Yamas - attitudes towards our environment (5 virtues to develop)

  • Nijamas - attitudes towards ourselves (5 qualities to develop)

  • Asana - physical posture

  • Pranayama - expansion or restraint of breath

  • Pratayahara - withdrawal of the senses

  • Dharana - concentration

  • Dhyan - meditation

  • Samadhi - blissful state of complete integration

Most of the limbs are taught in a typical yoga class, however the first two often get looked over. So for this 6 week course we will explore the meaning behind the Yamas and how we can integrate these both on the mat and into every day life. The philosophy will be interlaced between poses, breath work and meditation practice so you still get your typical yoga practice!

Yoga is a way of life, not just an exercise class or a way to feel better. When we have a deeper understanding of what yoga means and how we can embody it into a daily practice (which by the way doesn’t necessarily mean ‘mat time’ each day) we can really start to realise the true benefits of a life with balance and ease.

This course will run from Friday 3rd May - Friday 7th June at 9:30-10:45am

Investment is £8 drop in per class or £42 for 6 classes.


Later Event: June 21
Exploring the Nijamas